Finals of Inter Zone Inter University Tennis Tournament (Women) commence at Amity


The finals of Inter Zone Inter University Tennis Tournament (Women) organized by Association of Indian Universities (AIU) started today at Amity University Campus, Sector-125, Noida.


13 teams are participating in the  four day Tournament including University of Delhi, DU; Anna University, Chennai; Savitri Bai Phule Pune University, Pune; Osmania University, Hyderabad; IIS University, Jaipur, VBS Purvanchal University, Jaunpur, Punjabi University, Patiala; Mumbai University, Mumbai; Jamia Milia Islamia; Punjab University, Chandigarh; SRM University, Chennai and others.


Declaring the Tournament open, Col. Kaiser Singh- Director of Sports, Amity University heartily welcomed all the participating teams, their coaches and remarked that Amity University is hosting the prestigious Inter Zone Inter University Tennis Tournament (Women) for the first time and appreciated the excellent performance of the players. He wished all the players good luck and motivated them to give their best without thinking about the end result.


Expressing her thoughts, Prof. Kalpana Sharma- Director, Amity School of Physical Education and Sports Sciences (ASPESS) said that it is a proud privilege for Amity to host finals of Tennis (Women) Tournament at Amity Campus. She remarked that it is just a beginning and Amity University, with its world class Sports facilities is endowed to host International Sports events and tournaments.


The Sports Captains of all the participating teams took oath to play the game fairly and honestly.


During the day, University of Delhi , Delhi played against Anna University, Chennai and won by 2-0. Osmania University, Hyderabad defeated IIS University, Jaipur with 2-0 and Punjabi University, Patiala defeated VBS Purvanchal University, Jaunpur by 2-0.

Savitri Bai Phule Pune University; Mumbai University, Mumbai and Jamia Milia Islamia had the advantage of getting walkovers since their opponent teams were missing in the finals.

The finals of the Tournament will be played on Saturday January 17, 2015. 

© Amity University Powered By : AKC Data Systems (INDIA) Pvt. Ltd