Amity University Madhya Pradesh organizes Annual Debate 2015

Debate is one of the most powerful and unparalleled academic activities to offer creative room to the students to voice their opinions on an issue, and also hone their public speaking skills. Amity University, Madhya Pradesh organized the Annual Debate competition on 19 Feb 2015 for the students of first year across all the departments of different streams. The event was hosted by the students of MBA second semester. The topics of the debate this year were:

Ø  Credit cards do more harm than good to the Consumers

Ø  SEZ results in the Exploitation of the Poor

Ø  Animal Dissection should be Banned in labs

Following the debate, the motion for each topic was put before the house for voting with the following results:

Ø  Credit cards do more harm than good to the consumers: Defeated

Ø  SEZ results in the exploitation of the poor: Defeated

Ø  Animal dissection should be banned in labs: Defeated

A total of 18 students from across programmes were shortlisted to participate in the final competition and the following were the proud winners:

Topic I

Winner:Mini Shukla BA Economics II Sem.

Runner-up:  Anushka Singh, BALLB II Sem.

Topic II

Winner: Chelana Jain, BJMC II Sem

Runner-up: Kritika Pachisia, BBA II Sem

Topic II

Winner: Simran Lokwani, B. Com. II Sem

Runner-up:  Utkarsha, BJMC II Sem

The students of MBA I Year worked in perfect coordination to organize the event successfully. Ms Trapti Nayak and Mr Prateek Wadhwani were the anchors; Ms Tanya Gupta was the timekeeper; Ms. Ankita Upadhyay, Ms. Tanika Mahendru, Ms. Aparajita Singh and Shahana Khan were the members of the invitation committee; logistic support was taken care of by Mr Piyush Rajput, Tanya Gupta, Vikram Singh Bhadauria and Mr.Gaurav Sharma; and certificate writing and prize distribution was handled by Ms. Renaira Chandel and Ms. Shefali Gupta.

Dr. Manisha Singh, HOD Physics, Dr. Vinod Bhatt, Assistant Professor ASL, Mr. Amanpreet Randhawa, Assistant Professor & OSD to the Hon’ble VC and two student of MBA – Thanesha Iyer and Anubhav Nagwere the panel of Judges for the event.

The event culminated with the concluding remarks by the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor AUMP, Lt Gen V K Sharma, AVSM (Retd). He congratulated the winners and emphasized the importance of debating skills among students.

The winners were awarded with certificates and prizes by the Hon’ble Vice Chancellor before the vote of thanks was proposed by Shivani Tiwari of MBA II sem.

© Amity University Powered By : AKC Data Systems (INDIA) Pvt. Ltd