Cavalry 61 rides to victory in Amity Polo Cup 2015 by overpowering Action Polo by 6-3 goals

The finals of glorious and majestic Amity Polo Cup 2015 were played between Cavalry 61 and Action Polo today at lush green turf of Jaipur Polo Grounds, Delhi with a huge turnout of spectators who remained hooked to the game speculating about the winners till the last moment.

Cavalry 61 captained by Bk. Lt Col Ravi Rathore edged out Action Polo captained by Bk. Mr Samir Suhag and rode to victory by 6-3 goals. The match consisted of4 closely fought chukkers with exemplary display of impressive horsemanship,skillful stick work, pulsating moves, amazing sync between equestrian and sportsmen, competitive face-offs with occasional clashes between the players.

Both the teams fielded some of the finest Polo Players in the concluding Tournament of Delhi Spring Polo Season 2015, vying for the coveted Trophy including Bk. Mr Samir Suhag, Maj Vishal Chauhan and Bk. Lt Col Ravi Rathore.





1. LD Iliyas Ali

2. Maj Arjun Patil

3. Maj Vishal     Chauhan

Bk. Lt Col Ravi Rathore



-2     +1



+4 ___





1. Mr Prateesh Aggarwal

2. Mr Navneet Aggarwal

3. Mr Siddhant Sharma

Bk. Mr Samir Suhag










Chukker Wise Score:

                           Action Polo    Cavalry 61

First Chukker:              2            1

Second Chukker-          3            3

Third Chukker-            3            6

Fourth Chukker            3           6

During the first Chukker, Ravi Rathore scored the first goal by converting 30 yard penalty. Samir Suhag,within few seconds, equalized the score by converting a 40 yard penalty. The first Chukker came to an end with yet another 40 yard penalty converted by seasoned player, Samir Suhag, giving lead to Action Polo in the first Chukker.

Cavalry 61 took the lead with Rathore and Chauhan scoring one goal each but, in the dying minutes of the third Chukker, Suhag scored a goal to restore parity at 3 goals each.

The valiant performances by Ravi Rathore who scored two goals and Vishal Chauhan who scored one goal in third Chukker, sealed the fate of the game at 6-3 goals. No goal was scored in the last Chukker.

Speaking during the occasion Dr. Ashok K. Chauhan- Founder President, Amity Group applauded the exemplary sportsmanship and teamwork displayed by the players and shared that Amity is committed to the development of the nation through education and philanthropic activities. He assured that in future,Amity Group will be organizing more such events to support the under privileged section of the society so that they can be assimilated into the mainstream.

Sharing her views during the occasion, Ms. Pooja Chauhan- Vice Chairperson, Amity Humanity Foundation said, “Amity Polo Cup, Polo for Charity, is organized annually by the Amity Riding and Polo Academy, a part of Amity Education Group with over 1, 25, 000 students, 8 Universities, 150+ Institutions, 18 Schools and Preschools and 11 International Campuses. The proceeds of Amity Polo Cup go to the projects- “AMITASHA” and “ATULASHA” which aim to provide free education,books, meals and uniform to underprivileged girls and boys respectively”. She stressed that Amity is committed to the cause of underprivileged and needy and would continue to support them through various initiatives.

Dr. Ashok Chauhan, Dr.(Mrs.) Amita Chauhan- Chairperson, Amity International Schools, Mr. AtulChauhan- Chancellor, Amity University, Uttar Pradesh; Mr. Aseem Chauhan-Chancellor, Amity University, Gurgaon; Ms. Pooja Chauhan and Ms. Sapna Chauhan-Vice Chairperson, Amiown Schools presented the glistening Trophy to the winners

Adding to the glean ofthe illustrious finals were Ambassadors from several countries, Diplomats,Academicians, Designers, Sports persons, Celebrities, Politicians  and famous personalities from all walks of life including Maharaj KumarSahib and Maharani Kunwarani Sahiba Nivitte Kumari Ji of Udaipur, Ms. DarjaBavdaz-Kuret- Ambassador of Slovenia to India; Ms.  Shahnaz Husain -CEO of Shahnaz Herbals Inc; Mr. Rajeev Shukla- MP, Parliament and others.

The finals were followed by an Exhibition Match between Mauritius Tourism Promotion Authority and Axis Bank wherein the team of Mauritius Tourism Promotion Authority was overpowered by Axis Bank by 2-1 goals

During the occasion,“Raffle” was held and 4 special gifts were given to the lucky spectatorsby Ms. Pooja Chauhan and Maharani Kunwarani Sahiba Nivitte Kumari Ji.

The enthusiastic and talented nightingales of AMITASHA girls, who have been groomed holistically as per the vision and dream of Dr. (Mrs.) Amita Chauhan, sung an inspirational song in their melodious voices and mesmerize the gathering with their exemplary talent.

This year, Amity Polo Cup commenced on March 3 with over 8 teams including Jindal Panther, Shanti Farm, HCPC/ Cowboys, Indian Navy, Sahgal Stud/Sona Polo, Action Polo, 61 Cavalry, ASC participating and edging out fiercely their rivals to win the coveted Trophy. The tournament was indeed “fast and furious”and provided a treat of entertainment and excitement to the spectators with some of the famous polo players playing the tournament including Mr.Simran S Shergill (+5), Mr. Basheer Ali (+5), Mr. Samir Suhag (+5), Mr. GauravSahgal (+4), Mr. Abhimanyu Pathak (+4), Lt. Col Ravi Rathore (+4),Maj. Vishal Chauhan (+4) and Col. Navjit Singh Sandhu (+4)


The sponsors of the event included Gold Partner- Axis Bank, Tourism Partner- Mauritius Tourism Promotion Authority, Radio Partner- 94.3 Radio One and supporting partners-GAIL,EIL, Air Mauritius, Constance- Hotels and Resorts.


© Amity University Powered By : AKC Data Systems (INDIA) Pvt. Ltd