Amity University Madhya Pradesh Organizes Annual Debate Competition 2018 on 22nd March 2018

Debate is one of the most powerful and unparalleled academic activities to offer creative room tothe students to voice their opinions on an issue, and also hone their analytical and oratory skills. More than a mere verbal skill, debate embodies the ideal of reasoned arguments, tolerance for divergent point of views and rigorous self-examination. Amity University, Madhya Pradesh organized the Annual Debate competition on 22 March 2018 for the students of first year across all the departments of different streams. The event was hosted by Amity School of Languages and Amity System of Communication Enhancement and Transformation.

The Debate was conducted in the Parliamentary Format wherein the Speaker of the house invited the talk and each topic was advocated by the team representing the Government whereas it was refuted by the team representing the Opposition.

Topics of debate this year were:

·        Aadhar Card is a Breach of Privacy

·        Advertisement are Hindering the Independence of Thought

·        Social Media Results in Wastage of Time

Following the debate, the motion for each topic was put before the house for voting with the following results:

·        Aadhar Card is a Breach of Privacy  - Defeated

·        Advertisement are Hindering the Independence of Thought - Defeated

·        Social Media Results in Wastage of Time- Defeated

A total of 18 students from across programmes were shortlisted to participate in the final competition and the following were the proud winners:

Best Speaker: Toshvi Niwasker BA(J&MC) II

Runner-up Team: Ajeesha Nair CSE II, Katyani SinghBaghel CSE II and Shubham Vaid BBA II

Winning Team: Toshvi Niwasker BA(J&MC) II, Rashi Pandey B. Com II and Shivansh Sharma BALLB II

Ms. Alifia Khan CSE IV was the Speaker of the house, Ms Niharika Bhaumik MJMC II and Ms Nehal Singhwere the anchors; Mr Prabal Jain, BBA IV was the timekeeper;

The speakers were judged on the basis of Matter (preparation and logical argument), Manner (oratory skills) , Impact (teamwork ,tactics) and Rebuttal .The students of Literary Club worked in perfect coordination to organize the event successfully. Ms Niharika and Ms Nehal were the anchors; Ms Alifiya Khan wasthe Speaker of the house ; Mr Prabal was the timekeeper; Ms. Sakshi Mangal & Ms. Nidhi were the members of the invitation committee; logistic support was taken care of by Mr Siddharth ; certificate writing and prize distribution was handled by  Ms Mansi Kathuria, Ms Juhi Dhamija & Ms Ridhi Mandelia and Discipline was handled by Mr Prashast, Mr Karanveer , Ms Vansh &  Mr.Mohit

Dr Sanjay Sharma Maastricht University India Institute , Ms. Krati Rajoria , Assistant Professor ALS and Ms.Annu Kumari, Assistant Professor ASFDT, comprised the panel of Judges for the event.

The event culminated with the concluding remarks by Hon'ble Vice Chancellor AUMP, Lt Gen V K Sharma, AVSM (Retd). He congratulated the winners and emphasized the importance of debating skills among students.

The winners were awarded with certificates and prizes by Hon’ble Vice Chancellor, Pro Vice Chancellor and the judges. Finally Mr. Mayur Talreja of BBA IV sem proposed the vote of thanks.

© Amity University Powered By : AKC Data Systems (INDIA) Pvt. Ltd