Amity University Madhya Pradesh organizes Two Day National Conference on BIONANO

Amity University Madhya Pradesh organizes Two Day National Conference on BIONANO

A two day National Conference on Recent Advances in Biotechnology and Bionanotechnology was organized by Amity Institute of Biotechnology, Amity University Madhya Pradesh  on 29 and 30 October 2013. It  attracted eminent scientists, scholars and researchers from across the premier institutes of India.

The Conference began with the traditional lighting of the lamp  and Saraswati Vandana by the Chief Guest Prof Dr AK Singh, Hon’ble Vice Chancellor Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Agriculture University, Gwalior, Lt Gen V K Sharma, AVSM (Retd) Hon’ble Vice Chancellor AUMP, Prof (Dr) S M Paul Khurana former Vice Chancellor Rani Durgawati University Jablapur and Prof Dr R S Tomar, Organizing Secretary and Dean Academics AUMP. As he declared the conference open, Lt Gen Sharma spoke of the vital role that Biotechnology and Bionanotechnology play in everyday life.He stressed upon the need for active research in both these areas. Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Guest Prof Dr A K Singh also reiterated how Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology are impacting food technology, healthcare and environmental issues. The keynote address was given by Dr Khurana. He outlined the scope of research in Biotechnology and Bionanotechnology. The eminent guests also released the Book of Abstracts during the Inaugural Session.

The Conference saw 14 technical sessions, including those of Invited Speakers  and Oral Presentations and Poster Presentations by the delegates. The sessions were chaired by eminent scientists like Prof (Dr) G B K S Prasad, Prof (Dr) A N Pathak, Prof (Dr) Rajesh Tiwari, Prof (Dr) Kuldeep Singh, Prof (Dr) A K Jain, Dr. S P Singh, Dr M M Parida, Dr Sushil Kumar, Prof (Dr) R P Singh, Prof (Dr) Rajiv Prakash, Prof (Dr) V K Rao, Prof Amitabh Mukhopadhyay and Prof (Dr) W.Selvamurthy.

47 delegates including some from BHU, DRDO, Jiwaji University and other Amity campuses presented their research papers. The conference also received 50 entries for poster presentations.

The first day of the conference also saw a lively cultural programme presented by the students of AIB

The Chief Guest for the Valedictory Session of the Conference was Prof (Dr) W Selvamurthy, former Chief Controller R & D for Life Sciences DRDO and Director, Research Astif Amity University. The Guest of Honour on the occasion was Prof Dr Suhsil Kumar as INSA honorary scientist. The Hon’ble Vice Chancellor AUMP Lt Gen V K Sharma AVSM (Retd)  congratulated the delegates on the occasion and appreciated the quality of research papers presented by them. Prof. Selvamurthy likewise praised the organizers for their efforts and the smooth conduct of the conference. Prof. Selvamurthy stressed upon the need for collaboration in research so that academic research gets translated into applicable technology. The Valedictory Session included with Prize Distribution.  The Prizes included certificates of appreciation and a cash reward of Rs 2100. Nagendra S. of DRDO,Gwalior bagged the prize for Best Research Paper and Arunseshan of Anna University Chennai received the prize for best poster presentation. The Conference ended with the concluding remarks of the Organizing Secretary Prof Dr RS Tomar .

© Amity University Powered By : AKC Data Systems (INDIA) Pvt. Ltd